Posts Tagged Maya

Weekly Feature – Tying up Loose Ends – Korean Music – I

First week of June – a lot of interesting developments took place this week, eg. news about Alex’s, Lee Jung’s and Sung Si Kyung’s album releases, not to mention some new finds on my part, and of course the Dream concert.

For the uninitiated, the Dream concert is an annual Korean event when the industry (or at least half of it – the famous ones) gather in honour of the cause against music piracy. This year’s event saw stars like Epik High, SS501, Super Junior, MC Mong, DBSK, Maya, Jewelry, Typhoon, AST’ 1, SHINee, Peter, SNSD, Buga Kingz , Wonder Girls, Mighty Mouth and Choo Seung Hoon. That makes it the largest annual live concert in Korea. I couldn’t catch it, as always, though I had a good time reading about it on Popseoul (the comments are the most interesting bit – where else do you get to see motley fans of motley idol groups trade words like fire tipped arrows in a Battle Royale). Anyway, click here to read Popseoul’s coverage (And while you’re there, do have a look at the ridiculous picture of Seo In-Young posted there, it’s hilarious! (Not meaning to offend any Jewelry fans))

Anyway, the above picture is of Epik High arriving at the Dream Concert, 2008.

I came across a LOT of new music – some great and for some, terrible would be an understatement. And to imagine the irony, when I was looking through the music I had accumulated through the week, I found some very well known artists having the worst songs, and some – virtually unknown, yet having the best music there was (I know that had a LOT of grammatical errors, but I hope you understood the point I’m inarticulately trying get get across…). TGUS, Trans Fixion, Soulzean, MK, Orifeel…ing, Nell (for releasing 1분만 닥쳐줄래요!) pleasantly surprised me. And the only one I knew well was Nell, I had a faint idea about Orifeel…ing and TGUS, but besides that, I hadn’t even heard of these wonderful artists. I also mildly enjoyed F.T Island’s Japanese debut album, and Big Bang’s With U Mini Album.

On the other hand, the downers for me this week were SuJu-H’s Cooking? Cooking! (Not that I was expecting much, but I just wanted to be pleasantly surprised, despite the skepticism)… just too happy (with an exclamation mark for added emphasis) for me, it was too upbeat/candy-coated/sugary/saccharine, unfortunately. The Wonder Girls’ So hot single was not great either, though I must admit the title song is catchy (if a little narcissistic). So except the title song, I wouldn’t really recommend any other song on the single. However, at this point I must mention that the rap version (MV version) of Tell Me sounds like a big improvement over the original, in fact my favourite part of Tell Me is YooBin’s rap. Don’t really like the abundance of leopard print though…

My picks this week (NOT in any particular order):

1. Epik High – One (Band Ver.)

2. Nell – 멀어지다

3. T (Yoon MiRae) – Baby Bye Bye (From Rhapsody Part Two Digital Single with Drunken Tiger)

4. Trans Fixion – Radio (Feat. Xeno) (still don’t know where to get the rest of this, but I’m looking)

5. Soulzean -이번 한번만 (feat. Riaa)

6. MK – 사랑이라서 (feat.Roserael)

7. TGUS – I Believe In

8. F.T Island – Soyogi

9. Orifeel…ing – 슬픈 영혼 (By Kai, 장치열, 나리)

10. Orifeel…ing – 너무 늦어서 (By MK, 김미란)

I’m so gonna buy Orifeel…ing’s album, but I’d be damned if I find it on Yesasia… Actually I can’t find it anywhere…

Anyway, have a great week ahead, everyone!


Leave a Comment

Review: Maya Vol.4 – MAYA FOUR


RELEASE DATE : 10 April 2008



GENRE : Rock, mostly

I took some time to listen to this one, and really get into it, so to speak. For those who don’t know her, Maya is a Korean rock musician, who is perhaps best known for her captivating stage presence and her amazing intensity of performance in concerts. In fact, I came to know her through a clip of one of her concerts. Rarely do stars perform with an intensity like Maya’s, which I now consider her USP. This album, her fourth, is an eclectic mix of Rock with all other imaginable genres, and is an absolutely great listen. On a completely unrelated side-note, I love the cover!


01 01 Maya Four
02 그 흔한 반지도 (That Ordinary Ring/Not Even A Little Ring) (Title)
03 BC 2500
04 Story In Your Eyes
05 꽈배기 (Doughnut)
06 마이 아리랑 [My Arirang] (Maya+Arirang)
07 Maria
08 발자욱 (Footsteps)
09 Dead or Alive
10 1995…그 봄 (1995… That Spring)]
11 Ironic Report
12 검은 눈물 (Held Tears)

credits to sweetxmelodies@blogspot for translated titles.


Track 1: Intro track. Though I generally don’t pay attention to intro pieces, I like this one.

Track 2: (9/10) Nice Rock/Pop track, laced with a social message. Maya’s vocals are most noticeably subdued compared to her usual style in this one, but it makes for a good listen. The melody is easy to listen to, and makes for a lively song.

Track 3: (7.5/10) Interesting start…I’m liking this track. It’s a modern rock number with a unique musical arrangement.

Track 4: (8.5/10) Wow, Maya’s vocals really shine on this one. A mellow rock-based ballad about the pain of separation which showcases Maya’s ability to sing emotionally. Recommended.

Track 5: (9/10) This is back to Maya’s original style… forceful and intense. One of my favourite tracks on the album. Again, recommended!

Track 6: (9.5/10) I LOVE this track. It’s a rendition of the Korean traditional song ‘Arirang’ done in a typical Maya style – passionate and intense. Here you can really see how great music can sound when modern and traditional styles are fused, a style Maya has previously tried with Jin dal ae ggot, her debut track. Highly recommended!

Track 7: (6/10) I really wasn’t expecting this Latin-infused track on this album. It didn’t really stand out to me. An OK track…

Track 8: (7/10) A really mellow start leads to a traditional rock ballad. She really expresses her versatility well here, showing that she can sing both fierce as well as mellow songs with equal ease.

Track 9: (9.5/10) Great track with an intense chorus. It starts off with what sounds like an electrocardiograph, symbolizing the fight for life and survival. Maya sings with her trademark intensity. Very Evanescence. I’m loving this track….

Track 10: (9/10) One of the highlights of this album. I love the guitar riff…

Track 11:(?/10) No vocals?… This track is interesting…I should listen to it one more time…

Track 12: (7/10) We’re back to mellow with this one. Emotional modern rock ballad.

VERDICT : Superb album to listen to. Recommended with an overall rating of 8/10.

TRACKS TO WATCH OUT FOR : Track no.s 2,4,5,6,9,10.

You can watch the MV for 그 흔한 반지도 (That Ordinary Ring/Not Even A Little Ring) here:

Her glasses make her look funny…She should get rid of them! Nice song anyway…

See the box in the sidebar to preview her music!

Like this? Purchase her CD here.

Comments (2)